Qualification Development & Regulation

What is an Awarding Body?

Awarding bodies are organisations that develop and award qualifications to meet the needs of learners, employers and other stakeholders.

They come in all shapes and sizes. They can be:

  • registered charities
  • chartered institutes
  • commercial businesses
  • employers who have established their own awarding body
  • small sector specific bodies or large cross-sectoral bodies

Irrespective of their shape and size awarding bodies focus on:

  • Developing high quality qualifications that meet the needs of employers and learners
  • Approving centers and working with them to ensure high quality delivery of qualifications
  • Carrying out activity designed to assure the quality of the qualifications awarded
  • Developing innovative products and services to support their centers and learners

If you are not satisfied with the quality of the delivery of qualifications you should contact the relevant Awarding Body for guidance and support.


Who regulates awarding bodies?

Awarding bodies in the UK are regulated by the following organisations:

Regulators and What they Regulate:

  • Ofqual – General and vocational qualifications in England Vocational qualifications in Northern Ireland.
  • Welsh Assembly Government – General and vocational qualifications in Wales.
  • SQA Accreditation – General and vocational qualifications in Scotland.
  • CCEA – General qualifications in Northern Ireland.